Journal 3

Here’s the third Journal update. We ran out of time tonight and unfortunately not everyone was able to write one. As a side note, we’ll try to get some pictures from today up in the afternoon tomorrow.

The question was: What was a God moment you’ve experienced so far this week?

Here are the responses.


Sarah Bliss

Thinking about which God moment I wanted to write about took awhile. It’s amazing how much you seem to see God when the sole purpose of being in a place is to experience Him. I decided on one that I had sort of already mentioned a few entries ago. When we visited that homeless shelter. I looked at those people, most of them without shoes and all in old clothes with rips and tears, and yet they still seemed so happy. No matter how much I try to look out of our culture, I’ve still fallen prey to the idea “If I have stuff I will be happy”. Those men totally disproved that theory. I stepped to the back of the group and just prayed for those men and the kids I had just met earlier in the day. I praised God for loving them and caring for them, and then I thanked Him for loving me, because in that moment, I felt His love for all of His creation. That looks like such a simplistic way to put it in context of what I felt, but some things just can’t be expressed in words, I guess.


Brian Capp

This week a God moment that I have experienced this week is seeing all the kids who are so excited to come back to camp the next day because of how much fun it was the first day. Hopefully God just lets the camp grow more and more this week till the end.


Abby Cook

A God moment I experienced this week was when we started with 1 child enrolled in our camp, and then ended up with over 50 children to teach.


Emma Early

today was as my mom says a “God day”. I am really blessed with my team of girls for the VBS and sports camp. I know that they are hard to work with but God is testing me. Im happy. I fully accept the challenge of breaking down the walls that these two girls have put up. I know they appear to be stubborn and rude but i think they need love. I’m going to show them that I care and that I want to help. Please pray for patience though. These girls are tough but I’m doing my best! Im excited in moving forward this week!


Karina Erickson

A God moment today was when we first got to the camp & got our groups, one girl was a little shy & didn’t want to participate. Eventually, she opened up & started to participate more.


Ana Finlay

God worked in big ways today. One of the little boys in our group was asking questions about God. He was telling us how Jesus had died and that was all he knew. We explained to him that Jesus rose from the dead and that God took him to heaven to be with him. We weren’t able
to answer all of his questions but it showed me that God was working in the hearts of even the little ones.


Brandon Hanson

a God moment was when one kid who seemed really mean and acted like a bully started asking questions about Eternal Life and stuff about what happened after you die. the questions he was asking was amazing


Karli Haywood

A God moment that i had today was probably how thankful and greatful the kids are. Like the things we take for granted are the things they appreciate the most. such as, all the kids wanted was to have more bandanas, and how they treasure them so much really touched me.


Kaitlyn Hunt

Today, i really feel like God was moving in a great way. When we first got there, we actually had kids today, no recruiting!! i really feel like that was something from God. We are all kind of dragging today, all very tired:( One of the things that really stood out to me today that I felt came from God, he really spoke to me last night after we had come back from the camp, and he really showed me how much he really cares for us. The kids that we are working with, really have close to nothing. It’s so sad, they don’t want us to leave, because they don’t want to go home to their broken homes, which have tough relationships, with divorced parents, or no parents at all, and are living with their grandparents. I really think that God helped me see how much I really do have and how much these kids really need our love. Even though it was a tough day for everyone, I think he helped me to be able to love on these kids even more than yesterday, and I’m really looking forward to tomorrow!!


Paul Janiszewski

God moments only come when you really feel that you have changed someone or someone has changed you.I feel that these little children that come and sit on your lap just make you feel that God is in these children. When one came and sat in my lap, I felt that it was my job to protect them in any way possible. I just really want some more God moments in my life.


Kyra Kverek

A God moment that happened today was that one of the older girls at first was a little grumpy and after i started talking to her about God she warmed and then wham we had to go she gave me a hug and begged me to come back tomorrow.


Jennifer Ladines

A God moment I experienced this week was when we were going around the neighborhood knocking on people’s doors telling them to come to VBS. In the beginning I was scared because the neighborhood is in a run down area, but then I was comforted by God’s presence and had the strength to carry on and was brave enough to talk to the people.


Grace McCoy

There have been many “God moments” on this trip so far. God has been moving in huge ways in the lives of the children, but especially in our lives. One special moment for me was when we decided to stop at the Florida State Baseball stadium and have a time of worship. One person played the guitar and sang with some others, but then we all joined in singing praises right there in the baseball stadium. I could feel God’s presence and it was amazing just being in the middle of a college campus with the ability to worship my Savior with my teammates even in the middle of the baseball stands. I trust that God is working in the lives of others, because I know He has been working in mine.


Zac Mitchell

My God moment today was the most powerful God moment that i have ever experienced in my life so far. Last night when I lead worship during share time i could barely stand and I was freaking out. Tonight at the baseball stadium i was sitting by myself and was praying for God to move through the music tonight and that i would be able to keep my nerves steady. As the first song stared and i began to play i noticed that i wasn’t shaking like i had been last night. I asked anyone who felt like they wanted to sing to come to the front and sing. Kara and Jennifer and Brian all came down to sing. As we were singing the song i felt and a supernatural peace. Like i was one and we were all one with God singing a song in high praise to our heavenly father. I had thoughts of becoming a worship leader after we had played on May 9th with the E Team band but i hadn’t really considered it. With my experience tonight i feel that God is calling me to be a worship leader. So in my God moment today i discovered what i want to do with my life.


Bailey Morris

Today one of my little kids came running up to me and wanted to tell me he had memorized the verse from yesterday. 🙂 That made my day. Also, one little girl started the day calling me Bailey, but then moved to calling me godmommy, then auntie, and then cousin. That made me realized how grateful I should be to have close family and friends that love me and show it. Those were definitely God moments.


João Pereira

When we were in the bible class I saw that the kids didn’t really know much about God/Jesus. That made me notice that we where most likely the only people that will tell them about Christ.


Turner Robinson

1.Today we started out with 2 or 3 kids. Then I look around and notice more and more kids have came to my team. I thank that god is using me to help influence these kids lives.


Elijah Snell

I experienced a kid, who I’m sure has no interest in learning about christ. asking questions. It amazed me and i knew it was the work of god


Emma Steinebronn

Today I was so excited when God called one of my kids to pray when we rock-up pray-uped. I was so excited because I had never imagined her doing that, nonetheless volunteering.


Dylan Whitaker

1. This week it was a god moment to see all the kids just slowly start to participate, because that’s something we prayed for.


Matthew Wilkinson

Today I had some serious God moments. The one I will list is a kid that was terrible at first. Today, he asked some good questions in bible. I am happy to see he is getting closer to God.

Leave a comment